College News

February 2, 2010

By Staff

Joel Abrahams named to Hofstra University’s dean’s listJoel Abrahams, of Issaquah, has been named to the 2009 fall semester dean’s list at Hofstra University in Hempstead, N.Y.

Abrahams is studying marketing at Hofstra.

University of Colorado honors Issaquah student

Kathryn Abel, of Sammamish, a 2009 Issaquah High School graduate, was selected for the fall semester dean’s list of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Colorado at Boulder.

Abel is studying biochemical engineering.

The dean’s list honors students with a grade point average of at least 3.6.

Abel was also awarded the University of Colorado’s Chancellors Scholarship and the Presidential Scholarship for academic achievement.

Local students help debate teams at tournament

Two local students helped their Bellevue College team take first and second place in the novice debate division at the Northwest University World’s style debate tournament Jan. 16.

A total of 42 students from six colleges competed.

Teammates Kellen Maggard, of Sammamish, and Cameron Griffin, of Seattle, placed first, while Taylor Smithson, of Issaquah, and Edite Forman, of Bothell, tied for second place.

All four students placed among the tournament’s top 10 speakers overall, with Maggard tied for sixth and Smithson ranked eighth.

The debate format involves a series of short speeches, with interruptions allowed for statements by the speaker’s opponents.

Student named a candidate in Presidential Scholars Program

Derrik Petrin, a graduating senior at Skyline High School, has been named one of more than 3,000 candidates in the 2010 Presidential Scholars Program.

The candidates were selected from more than 3 million students expected to graduate from high school in 2010.

Scholars are selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character, and involvement in community and school activities.

A panel of educators will select 500 semifinalists in April. The Commission on Presidential Scholars will make final selections — one young man and young woman from each state, among other winners. The U.S. Department of Education will announce the scholars in May.

Derrik is the son of Brian Petrin and Erzsebet Shore.

Bookmark and Share


Comments are closed.