College News

June 29, 2010

By Staff

Local students named WWU outstanding graduates

Gail Butler

Gail Butler, of Issaquah, and Wesleigh Richardson, of Sammamish, were recently named outstanding graduates at Western Washington University.

Faculty members from each academic department select one graduate to honor based on grades, research and writing, service to the campus and community, and promise for the future.

Butler, the daughter of Thomas and Joan Butler, of Issaquah, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in biochemistry and cellular and molecular biology, as well as a minor in chemistry. Butler, a graduate of Issaquah High School, plans to attend graduate school at the University of Michigan to pursue a doctorate in cellular and molecular biology.

Wesleigh Richardson

Richardson, the daughter of Michael and Polly Richardson, of Sammamish, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in liberal studies and a minor in art history. Richardson, a graduate of Skyline High School, plans to volunteer at an orphanage in Mexico before continuing her education.

Students make deans’ lists

Jillian Rippey, Mia Radic and Brian Schwartz, of Issaquah, and Jessup Meng, of Sammamish, were recently named to the Northeastern University dean’s list for the spring 2010 semester. To qualify, students must have a grade point average of 3.25 or greater.

Preston Mui, of Sammamish, was recently named to the 2010 spring semester dean’s list at Georgetown University, in Washington, D.C. Mui received second honors, with a grade point average of 3.7 or above on a 4.0 scale.

Tiffany Jernigan, of Issaquah, made the Dean’s List for spring semester 2010 at the Georgia Institute of Technology, in Atlanta. To qualify, undergraduate students must earn a 3.0 or higher academic average for the semester.

Kimberly Lammers, of Sammamish, was named to the dean’s list of Mercer University’s College of Liberal Arts, in Macon, Ga., for the spring 2010 semester.

Issaquah student named to CWU Silver Cortege

Central Washington University junior Jessica M. Berumen, of Issaquah, has been selected as a member of the 2010 Silver Cortege for CWU’s Westside Commencement June 13 at the ShoWare Center in Kent.

As a member of the Silver Cortege, Berumen, who attends CWU-Lynnwood, will help lead the procession of graduates into commencement.

The cortege is made up of a select group of students who have achieved academic excellence at CWU. Each student must be a junior and is chosen based on grade point average and credits completed.

Local student makes MSU president’s list

Stanley Conrad, of Issaquah, was recently named to the president’s list for the spring 2010 quarter at Mountain State University, Beckley, W.Va.

Conrad completed a minimum of 12 credit hours during the spring semester with a grade point average of 4.0 to achieve the recognition.

Local students graduate from college

Michael D. Rydell, of Issaquah, graduated with a Bachelor of Science in electrical and computer engineering, and Justin Zimmerman, of Sammamish, earned a Master of Science degree in electrical and computer engineering June 12 at Oregon State University.

Nelson Lind and Sarah Charleston, both of Issaquah, were among 719 students who participated in St. Olaf College’s 121st commencement ceremony May 30 in Northfield, Minn. Charleston, a Liberty High School graduate, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology. Lind, also an LHS grad, earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics/mathematics.

Three local residents recently graduated from Linfield College May 30 in McMinnville, Ore. From Issaquah, Kenton Barker earned a Bachelor of Arts in history and Lauren Brown received a Bachelor of Science in environmental studies, with a focus in policy. Newcastle resident Ashlee Carte received a Bachelor of Science in business, management concentration.

Matthew Fisser recently graduated from Texas Christian University with a Bachelor of Business degree in accounting, Summa Cum Laude. Fisser, a 2006 graduate of Skyline High School, was also recognized as a Senior Accounting Scholar, a Beta Gamma Sigma Inductee and was given the Delta Sigma Pi Key Award.

Jeffrey Lee and Shannon Poulos, of Issaquah, and Joseph McHale, of Sammamish, graduated from Montana State University May 8 in Bozeman, Mont.

The following local students graduated from Gonzaga University June 16: Jeffrey Allbaugh, of Issaquah, Bachelor of Arts degree in business administration; Michelle Miller, of Issaquah, Bachelor of Arts, business administration; and Joshua Hamblen, of Sammamish, Bachelor of Science.

Local students make WSU honor roll

The following local students were recently named to the Washington State University president’s honor roll for the spring 2010 semester. To be eligible, students must earn a grade point average of 3.75 in at least nine graded hours in a single term or 3.5 grade point average in 15 cumulative hours.

Issaquah: Madison Ayers, Derek Blohowiak, Joseph Brendel, Kelly Burgess, Danielle Chaney, Jillian Clark, Devon Crouch, Cara Davis, Caitlin Dooley, Camerin Dunn, Katherine Elmquist, Sheila Espenel, Jenna Farr, Kevin Faulkner, Montana Fauvet, Jessica Fiumara, Jordan Graham, Michelle Hedeen, Tanna Hitchcock, Cora Houser, Stephanie Huang, Shannon Inton, Michelle Ireland, Andre Jensen, Thomas Kaser, Shannon Keveren, Lauren Kulbeth, Ashley Lindeman, Melissa Marques, Connor McClain, Ellen McNicoll, Garrett Miller, Charles Misner, Mitchell Nelson, Mikayla Neves, Timothy Nygaard, Colleen Oliver, Kelsey Peterson, William Rogers-Durham, Tiffany Sasaki, Sara Schelley, Lianna Sellars, Laurel Skoff, Ryan Sneesby, Neil Stover, Brittany Turner, Danielle Turrin, Sean Zeller and Sarah Zeutschel

Renton: Matthew Asahara, Jason Butler, Kyle Salas-Conboy, Emily Dennison, Brenna Forgey, Nicolaus Hoifeldt, Nathan Janders, Colleen Johns, Kelly Knauss, Rodney Pearce, Christoph Prummer, Rachelle Rozsonits, Nathaniel Schoot and Ian Smith

Sammamish: Joshua Beach, Madeline Christie, Lynn Colingham, Lucas Corbin, Candice Covey, Jessica Gober, Sarah Goehri, Kristi Goetz, Kathryn Harrison, Andrew Infinger, Ram Kandasamy, Kendra Kisling, Arielle Lien, Anna Lowery, Jordan Macpherson, Laurelee Misseghers, David Osborne, Laura Saddler, Rachel Taylor and Matthew Thompson

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.