College News

July 6, 2010

By Staff

Local students graduate from college

The following local students graduated from Gonzaga University June 16: Jeffrey Allbaugh, of Issaquah, Bachelor of Arts degree in business administration; Michelle Miller, of Issaquah, Bachelor of Arts, business administration; and Joshua Hamblen, of Sammamish, Bachelor of Science.

Ana Siller, of Issaquah, has graduated from Boston College with a Bachelor of Arts degree from the university’s College of Arts & Sciences, with majors in communication and sociology.

Matthew D. Holze, of Issaquah, recently graduated with a Doctorate of Philosophy in mathematics at Boston University in May.

Tanya W Li, of Bellevue, graduated from Missouri University of Science and Technology with a Master of Science degree in information science and technology.Student makes dean’s list

Brooke M. Hubbard, of Sammamish, was recently named to the dean’s list at Boston University for the spring semester.

WSU student receives scholarship

Courteney I. Dowd, a 2007 graduate of Skyline High School, was awarded a $1,000 Basil and Ella Alexander Jerard Scholarship from the Washington State University English department.

To qualify, Dowd submitted a paper about euthanasia, a letter of recommendation from one of her professors and wrote three paragraphs about three books that were outside of her class assignments. Additionally, students must be full-time English majors based on merit and have a minimum grade point average of 3.0.

Dowd, the daughter of Kimberley and Gerald Dowd, of Sammamish, is studying professional rhetoric English and psychology, and is expected to graduate from WSU in May 2011. She is a tutor at the WSU writing center who helps students with writing essays and forming résumés.

Local students make WSU honor roll

The following local students were recently named to the Washington State University president’s honor roll for the spring 2010 semester. To be eligible, students must earn a grade point average of 3.75 in at least nine graded hours in a single term or 3.5 grade point average in 15 cumulative hours.

Issaquah: Madison Ayers, Derek Blohowiak, Joseph Brendel, Kelly Burgess, Danielle Chaney, Jillian Clark, Devon Crouch, Cara Davis, Caitlin Dooley, Camerin Dunn, Katherine Elmquist, Sheila Espenel, Jenna Farr, Kevin Faulkner, Montana Fauvet, Jessica Fiumara, Jordan Graham, Michelle Hedeen, Tanna Hitchcock, Cora Houser, Stephanie Huang, Shannon Inton, Michelle Ireland, Andre Jensen, Thomas Kaser, Shannon Keveren, Lauren Kulbeth, Ashley Lindeman, Melissa Marques, Connor McClain, Ellen McNicoll, Garrett Miller, Charles Misner, Mitchell Nelson, Mikayla Neves, Timothy Nygaard, Colleen Oliver, Kelsey Peterson, William Rogers-Durham, Tiffany Sasaki, Sara Schelley, Lianna Sellars, Laurel Skoff, Ryan Sneesby, Neil Stover, Brittany Turner, Danielle Turrin, Sean Zeller and Sarah Zeutschel

Renton: Matthew Asahara, Jason Butler, Kyle Salas-Conboy, Emily Dennison, Brenna Forgey, Nicolaus Hoifeldt, Nathan Janders, Colleen Johns, Kelly Knauss, Rodney Pearce, Christoph Prummer, Rachelle Rozsonits, Nathaniel Schoot and Ian Smith

Sammamish: Joshua Beach, Madeline Christie, Lynn Colingham, Lucas Corbin, Candice Covey, Jessica Gober, Sarah Goehri, Kristi Goetz, Kathryn Harrison, Andrew Infinger, Ram Kandasamy, Kendra Kisling, Arielle Lien, Anna Lowery, Jordan Macpherson, Laurelee Misseghers, David Osborne, Laura Saddler, Rachel Taylor and Matthew Thompson

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.