College News

January 18, 2011

By Staff

Local students graduate from college

Jennifer Cain, of Issaquah, recently graduated from Prescott College, in Prescott Ariz., with a Master of Arts in degree in education on Dec. 18, 2010.

Edwin Morris, of Renton, recently graduated from the University of Kansas, with a Master of Arts degree in clinical child psychology.

Local student gets $1,500 scholarship to WWU

Katherine Garvey, daughter of Brian and Andrea Garvey of Issaquah, received a $1,500 Krejci Inukshuk Scholarship for Canadian-American Studies for the 2010-11 academic year at Western Washington University.

The Krejci Inukshuk Scholarship for Canadian-American Studies is awarded to a student within the Department of Canadian-American Studies who is a U.S. citizen and Washington state resident with a minimum grade point average of 3.0 or higher.

Garvey, a senior at WWU, is majoring in journalism and Canadian-American studies and has earned a 3.57 GPA. She is the managing editor of WWU’s Klipsun magazine and plans to graduate in March.

Students make deans’ lists

Daniel Gibbs, of Issaquah, was recently named to the UW-Madison fall 2010 dean’s list.

Dean Anderson, of Issaquah, made the fall dean’s list at the University of Montana Western. To qualify, students must achieve a 3.33 grade point average or better.

The following students recently made the fall 2010 dean’s list for Eastern Washington University: Issaquah — Aaron Abolofia, Steven Kakoczky, Allysa Matusiefsky, Brennan Nykreim and Brian Quan; Sammamish — Jase Butorac, Beverley Knigge, Kami Lind, Jeffrey White and Patrick White; Preston — Jason Abrams.

Local students make WSU honor roll

The following students were named to the Washington State University president’s honor roll for the fall 2010 semester. To qualify, undergraduate students must earn a grade point average of 3.75 or earn a 3.50 cumulative GPA.

Issaquah: Derek Blohowiak, Joseph Brendel, Kelly Burgess, Jillian Clark, Devon Crouch, Cara Davis, Sheila Espenel, Jenna Farr, Montana Fauvet, Jessica Fiumara, Nicholas Galbraith, Karen Gerde, Kyle Gutzler, Michelle Hedeen, Tanna Hitchcock, Kristina Hornland, Jeffrey Houghton, Cora Houser, Stephanie Huang, Shannon Inton, Michelle Ireland, Lisa Jones, Thomas Kaser, Alexander Kaser, Shannon Keveren, Lauren Kulbeth, Jenna Lambdin, Alexander Lambdin, Megan Lattin, Kathy Le, Elana Levy, Ashley Lindeman, Lauren Loftis, Carly Mackinnon, Connor McClain, Charles Misner, Molly Nelson, Anthony Oien, Colleen Oliver, Kimberly Pua, Jared Rixon, William Rogers-Durham, Jason Scholl, Lianna Sellars, Ryan Sneesby, Sarah Sneesby, Neil Stover, Brittany Turner and Kyle Weber

Newcastle: Zach Burris, Christopher Cao, Rosalyn Krueger, Lauren La Fontaine, Ryan Pendleton, Jason Pham, Michelle Quach and Lauren Young

Renton: Matthew Asahara, Kyle Conboy, Emily Dennison, Tiana Ellison, Sophie Gao, Madison Herman, Nicolaus Hoifeldt, Weiyan Huang, Nathan Janders, Colleen Johns, Kelly Knauss, Janelle Mattern, Rodney Pearce, Christoph Prummer, Rachelle Rozsonits, Tiffany Sasaki, Nathaniel Schoot, Ian Smith, Jason Tavenner, Monesa Unger, Kyle Vilayvanh and Sarah Marie Wilcock

Sammamish: Alexandra Abraham, Lucas Corbin, Candice Covey, Travis Cox, Monrawee Cross, John Dove, Courteney Dowd, Julia Figone, Mollie Finlon, Sara Fisher, Hannah Garcia, Jessica Gober, Kristi Goetz, Kerry Gugliotto, Laura Hawkinson, Kasey Kaelin, Ram Kandasamy, Kendra Kisling, David Knutson, Brad Kohlrus, Arielle Lien, Jen-Wei Liu, Anna Lowery, Connor Pomeroy, Kayten Porter, Benjamin Ressler, Christina Shajenko, Michael Smith, Regan Spencer, Matthew Thompson and Lowell Troyer

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.