Nominate environmentalists for Ruth Kees award

January 25, 2011

By Staff

Nominate environmentalists for the top city eco-honor — the Ruth Kees Environmental Award for a Sustainable Community.

The annual award recognizes people for a record of outstanding commitment to natural resource preservation. Kees, a teacher, mentor and role model, advocated open space preservation and environmental protection.

The application is available on the municipal website. Submit nominations until 5 p.m. Feb. 25.

Then, a committee reviews nominees and recommends a group of finalists to Mayor Ava Frisinger and City Council President John Traeger for selection.

The award is usually presented at a spring or summer council meeting.

The late Kees received the first award. The lifelong environmentalist advocated for landmark and natural area preservation, sustainable development, recycling programs and protection of the Issaquah Valley Aquifer and Tiger Mountain. Kees died in May 2009.

Other honorees include late Issaquah Alps Trails Club founder Harvey Manning; the late William Longwell Jr., a trails club co-founder; then-Councilman David Kappler; and, last year, Mountains to Sound Greenway pioneer Ted Thomsen.

The winner receives $500, funded through a donation from the Kees’ estate, and his or her name is engraved on a commemorative plaque.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , , , , , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.