Issaquah police honored for conduct during shootout

March 20, 2012

By Staff

The police officers involved in the deadly September 2011 shootout at Clark Elementary School earned a national honor for the incident, city officials announced March 15.

Officers involved in the shooting earned the Washington honorable mention award at the National Association of Police Organizations’ TOP COPS Awards.

The ceremony is scheduled for May 12 in Washington, D.C.

Each year, the association recognizes law enforcement officers from federal, state, county and local agencies for acts of bravery, courage and outstanding service during the preceding year. The organization reviews hundreds of submissions from throughout the county to identify the top 10 cases to appoint as TOP COPS. Of the cases not selected, one case from each state is selected for honorable mention.

The organization recognized Officer Brian Horn, Officer Jesse Petersen, Officer Laura Asbell, Officer Tom Griffith, Cpl. Christian Munoz and Sgt. Chris Wilson.

Meanwhile, a King County prosecutor-led inquest is poised to review the officers’ actions in the gun battle — a standard procedure in officer-involved shootings. The shooter in the incident, Ronald W. Ficker, 51, was killed.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.