Issaquah School District students qualify as National Merit semifinalists

September 18, 2012

By Staff

Twenty-one students from the Issaquah School District have qualified as semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program.

Representing Liberty High School on the list is Veronica Austin. Semifinalists at Issaquah High School are Braden Hahn, Tiffany Han, Alexander Hansen, Zoey Kapusinski, Allen Kim, Viviane Poulain, Christine Rasquinha, Emily Repp, Hunter Sapienza, Nikita Sirohi and Allen Wang. From Skyline High School, Carlene Chung, Jessica Guo, Michael Lee, Siddharth Murching, Diana Ning, Mary Alice Peng, Nitin Shyamkumar, Andrew Smith and Sonya Ye all qualified.

The district’s 21 semifinalists are among 16,000 high school seniors across the nation that are in the running for 8,400 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million.

Students began by completing the 2011 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, which represents less than 1 percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest scoring entrants in each state.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.