Nominate Issaquah environmentalists for honors

October 9, 2012

By Staff

NEW — 11:50 a.m. Oct. 9, 2012

City leaders put out a call last month for Sustainable Community Award nominees.

The honor is divided into categories for the Ruth Kees Environmental Award for a Sustainable Community and the Sustainable Community Award.

The honor named for Kees is the highest environmental award in Issaquah, and the Sustainable Community Award recognizes significant achievements and positive results of individuals.

Past Kees honorees include late City Council President Maureen McCarry, late Mountains to Sound Greenway pioneer Ted Thomsen and Issaquah Alps Trails Club President David Kappler, a former councilman.

Kees award recipients receive $500, funded through a donation from the Kees’ estate, his or her name is engraved on a commemorative plaque, and a tree is planted in the Kees Grove of Trees.

The nomination form is available on the municipal website, Send forms to City of Issaquah, Office of Sustainability, P.O. Box 1307, 130 E. Sunset Way, Issaquah, WA 98027, or email them to The nomination deadline is Oct. 19.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.