Indians heading to Hawaii tournament

July 2, 2013

By Christina Corrales-Toy

The Issaquah Indians 18U baseball team accepted an invitation to compete in the 2013 Hawaii World Series.

The team, comprised of Issaquah and Skyline high school students, will travel to the island of Oahu to compete in the July 16-21 tournament.

It is the last hurrah for the group, many of whom have played together since T-ball with Issaquah Little League.

“We were contacted by the tournament organizers right as the season started and we threw it out to the guys because we knew they wanted to play in one more memorable tournament together,” Issaquah Indians coach Glenn Meyer said.

The Indians will go up against teams from Hawaii, California and even Guam.

To help offset costs associated with the trip, the team worked at the U.S. Junior Chamber of Commerce’s national convention in Seattle June 5-8. The players provided logistical support for about 500 attendees.

The U.S. Junior Chamber of Commerce, whose members are known as Jaycees, provides young people with the tools they need to build the bridges of success in the areas of business development, management skills, individual training, community service and international connections.

“The Jaycees’ financial support was really crucial in getting a number of these kids over the top financially so we could make this happen,” Meyer said.

It will be the team’s final season together, but it’s has been a more than memorable ride, highlighted by a PONY state championship as a 16U team a few years ago. That year, the team played a tournament in San Jose, Calif.

“This is the sixth year we have had these guys together and I can’t think of a better way to end our high school summer baseball experience than to go to Hawaii with these guys,” Meyer said. “I am very proud of what these guys have become off the field and it’s been an honor to coach them. I am going miss them all.”

Players Zach Garner, Kevin Letourneau, Cody Collister, Jack Nickel, Jackson Meyer, Troy Potensky, Anders Lindberg, Ryan Siefkes, Derek Haroutoonian, Bobby Griffith, Ike Huffman, Tyler Sheehan, Kyle Thomas and Andrew Hunyh attend Issaquah, while Josh Min, Blake Young and Chris Young go to Skyline.

The team is coached by Meyer, Mike Griffith and Mike Young.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.