Sasquatch family helps drivers avoid $99 ticket

August 27, 2013

By Staff

The Washington State Department of Natural Resources has launched a video campaign featuring a Sasquatch family to remind people that a Discover Pass is required when visiting Washington state-managed recreation lands.

The video is available at

The Discover Pass is a vehicle access pass required on all Washington state-managed recreation lands. The fine for not displaying a Discover Pass is $99.

The Washington State Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to recreation lands and water-access sites managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, DNR and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. State recreation lands include state parks, boat launches, heritage sites, wildlife and natural areas, trails and trailheads.

An annual pass is $35 (including transaction fees) and a one-day pass is $11.50.

The Discover Pass may be purchased:

  • online at,
  • in person at about 600 recreational license vendors where state fishing and hunting licenses are sold,
  • by phone 866-320-9933 toll free,
  • at state parks headquarters and region offices, and at state parks when staff is available.

More videos and a “Meet the Family” bio are available at A 30-second version is available at

Learn more at

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.