New mayor, City Council members sworn into office

January 28, 2014

By Peter Clark

By Peter Clark

Issaquah Municipal Court Judge Scott Stewart swore in Issaquah’s new mayor and four new City Council members Jan. 6.

During the first regular City Council meeting of 2014, Stewart offered congratulations to the line of those he led into office.

Mayor Fred Butler and councilmembers Eileen Barber, Stacy Goodman, Tola Marts and Mary Lou Pauly all took the oath of office.

“Let me say that I am honored in the trust the citizens of Issaquah has placed in me,” Butler said in prepared remarks after taking his oath. “I’m really excited to be mayor and I will do my best to lead with wisdom and compassion.”

After 14 years on the council, he took the time to honor outgoing mayor Ava Frisinger on her 16 years of service as mayor. She spent 10 years on the council before that.

“I would like to acknowledge Ava Frisinger who has set an outstanding example I hope to emulate,” Butler continued. “I’m somewhat sad to be leaving the council. I pledge to continue the good relations we have established between the council and the administration.”

The council voted Councilman Paul Winterstein as the new council president, replacing Butler, and Goodman into the deputy council president position. The council president leads meetings in the mayor’s absence.

Bookmark and Share
Other Stories of Interest: , , , , , ,


Got something to say?

Before you comment, please note:

  • These comments are moderated.
  • Comments should be relevant to the topic at hand and contribute to its discussion.
  • Personal attacks and/or excessive profanity will not be tolerated and such comments will not be approved.
  • This is not your personal chat room or forum, so please stay on topic.