June 13, 2015
NEW — 6 a.m. June 13, 2015
Issaquah History Museums explores a dark and dangerous mining past on a “Grand Ridge Mine History Hike” June 20.
The Issaquah History Museums will give 20 people the chance to explore the daily commute of miners who worked in Issaquah’s longest-lasting coal mining operation as early as 1888.
The 3-mile adventure from 10:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. June 20 will be well worth the wear on sturdy walking shoes.
March 25, 2015
The Issaquah History Museums is kicking off a new season of history hikes with its popular Olde Town Mine Hike on March 28.
Downtown Issaquah was once the site of massive coal-mining operations, and March is the ideal time to explore the historic sites. Docent Doug Bristol will lead a two-hour tour of the sites while treating participants to stories about a mining era that continues to shape downtown Issaquah.
December 3, 2014
The first thing visitors see upon walking into the Renton History Museum’s Newcastle exhibit is, appropriately, a tribute to a man that means so much to the city’s history.
Milt Swanson’s mining helmet emblazoned with his name along the side greets museumgoers while sitting in a clear display case.
May 6, 2014
“Every community has its own weird, wild and wonderful stories, and Issaquah is no exception,” according to Erica Maniez, director of Issaquah History Museums.
This is the fourth year the museums will spotlight Issaquah’s unique heritage throughout the month of May for Local History Month.
The organization operates two museums people can visit, Gilman Town Hall, 165 S.E. Andrews St., and the Depot Museum, 78 First Ave. N.E.
Town Hall has exhibits on display that show the history of the town; the Depot Museum highlights the role the railroad played in the town’s development.
March 25, 2014
NEW — 6 a.m. March 25, 2014
Join Issaquah History Museums history hike leaders at the depot museum March 29 to explore the mining history that continues to shape downtown Issaquah.
Get a new perspective on Issaquah’s Olde Town neighborhood through historic photos, maps and observation of the changing landscape.
The first in a series of three mining history-themed interpretive walks will showcase the mine areas on the edge of downtown Issaquah.
March 18, 2014
It was July 29, 1914. Austria launched a bomb attack on Serbia, and Russia commenced mobilization for an attack on Austria. The German “Count” Gustav Konstantin Alvo von Alvensleben was in Germany, where the government was about to declare war on France and Russia.
On that same day, in the small town of Issaquah, Dave and Ann Morgan welcomed their first child, Ivor, into the world. He was born in coal company housing owned by von Alvensleben.
While von Alvensleben made plans to return to North America, Dave Morgan tended donkeys for von Alvensleben’s Issaquah and Superior Coal Mine on the west side of town. The donkeys hauled carts of coal from the dark, dusty, noisy and wet depths of the mines to the surface, where the coal was crushed, sorted and cleaned in preparation for shipment.
March 11, 2014
Cougar Mountain Regional Wildland Park is now home to a unique land-art installation that pays tribute to the area’s coal mining past.
The project, entitled “Black Forest (29,930,000 tons),” is spread across the forest floor in the form of nearly 50,000 pounds of biochar, environmentally friendly charcoal that appears similar to the coal that was once mined from the mountain.