Join Issaquah History Museums for Downtown History Walk on May 23

May 20, 2015

One of Issaquah History Museums’ favorite events is back.

On May 23, Erica Maniez, Issaquah History Museums director, will lead participants on a hike through the history of Issaquah, from the American Indians to the present day.

Read more

Bookmark and Share

Trolley starts running May 9

May 8, 2015

NEW — 6 a.m. May 8, 2015

The Issaquah Valley Trolley will begin its 2015 season with a celebration of mothers.

The trolley will go into operation May 9. The next day, Mother’s Day, the first 50 moms to ride will receive a flower, compliments of Michael Johnson.

Read more

Bookmark and Share

Popular Olde Town Mine Hike returns March 28

March 25, 2015

The Issaquah History Museums is kicking off a new season of history hikes with its popular Olde Town Mine Hike on March 28.

Downtown Issaquah was once the site of massive coal-mining operations, and March is the ideal time to explore the historic sites. Docent Doug Bristol will lead a two-hour tour of the sites while treating participants to stories about a mining era that continues to shape downtown Issaquah.

Read more

Bookmark and Share

Send photos of what you love, or not, about Issaquah’s architecture by Jan. 1

December 15, 2014

NEW — 6 a.m. Dec. 15, 2014

The Issaquah History Museums is seeking digital images of Issaquah’s architecture.

The winter history program, “Issaquah’s Architecture,” at the Issaquah Depot Museum on Jan. 10, will showcase community members’ photos of Issaquah as seen through an architectural perspective.

Send photos of what you like and don’t like about architecture in Issaquah. Images of architectural features, details and streetscapes are welcome. Consider not just what is already historic, but what might be historic — something that might not be old but could be of significance or interesting to future Issaquahans.

Email JPEG images to volunteer@issaquahhistory.org by Jan. 1.

 

Bookmark and Share

Train Depot brings railroad history to life Aug. 16-17

August 15, 2014

NEW — 6 a.m. Aug. 15, 2014

The history of railroads in America will literally come to life Aug. 16-17 in a unique, free event at the Issaquah Depot Museum.

The Suitcases Project, directed by artist Joan Laage, presents alternating scenes throughout the depot and on the passenger trolley that include text, movement and local references to the history of Issaquah.

Erica Maniez, director of Issaquah History Museums, likened the project to a form of performance art or a living, breathing museum.

A cast will continuously perform scenes in and around the depot from 10:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. both days. Spectators are free to walk around and observe the cast of railroad workers, passengers, conductors and more.

“It’s really about capturing the mood of an era when railroads ruled,” Maniez said.

Read more

Bookmark and Share

Espionage and coal: Mining Issaquah’s World War I history

March 18, 2014

It was July 29, 1914. Austria launched a bomb attack on Serbia, and Russia commenced mobilization for an attack on Austria. The German “Count” Gustav Konstantin Alvo von Alvensleben was in Germany, where the government was about to declare war on France and Russia.

On that same day, in the small town of Issaquah, Dave and Ann Morgan welcomed their first child, Ivor, into the world. He was born in coal company housing owned by von Alvensleben.

File This is most likely an occasion described in a Seattle Times article from July 19, 1013, which read in part, ‘Two hundred fuel dealers and their wives... were the guests of the Issaquah & Superior Coal Mining Company at its mines in Issaquah... The trip was made in a special train of three cars that left King Street Station at 9:30.’ The article describes the procession from the Issaquah Depot to the mine offices, where Issaquah Mayor P.J. Smith gave a rousing speech. The coal company’s sales manager, J. F. Grant, replied with the interesting (if not true) fact that Issaquah meant ‘beautiful maiden,’ whereupon he welcomed Blodwyn Watkins, ‘the pretty daughter of Superintendent J. R. Watkins, dressed in Indian costume, who emerged from a stand erected for the purpose.’

File
This is most likely an occasion described in a Seattle Times article from July 19, 1013, which read in part, ‘Two hundred fuel dealers and their wives… were the guests of the Issaquah & Superior Coal Mining Company at its mines in Issaquah… The trip was made in a special train of three cars that left King Street Station at 9:30.’ The article describes the procession from the Issaquah Depot to the mine offices, where Issaquah Mayor P.J. Smith gave a rousing speech. The coal company’s sales manager, J. F. Grant, replied with the interesting (if not true) fact that Issaquah meant ‘beautiful maiden,’ whereupon he welcomed Blodwyn Watkins, ‘the pretty daughter of Superintendent J. R. Watkins, dressed in Indian costume, who emerged from a stand erected for the purpose.’

While von Alvensleben made plans to return to North America, Dave Morgan tended donkeys for von Alvensleben’s Issaquah and Superior Coal Mine on the west side of town. The donkeys hauled carts of coal from the dark, dusty, noisy and wet depths of the mines to the surface, where the coal was crushed, sorted and cleaned in preparation for shipment.

Read more

Bookmark and Share